Twilight Force – Heroes Of Mighty Magic


“Are you happy!”

If not, just listen to this album and you are. If I didn’t know better, I would have bet this hails from Italy, but no this is the Swedish happy power metal band Twilight Force with their second album. Because of the positive reactions on “Tales of Ancient Prophecies” Nuclear Blast signed them.

Expect symphonic power metal in the vein of Rhapsody with the happiness of Freedom Call. The tempo is rather high in general and a lot of theatrical arrangements and choirs see to it that the music sometimes sounds like a film soundtrack. The lyrics about dragons and elfs and ancient times stick to the whole image. The production of the album is multi layered and sounds like a Swiss clock. For a lot of you this sounds too much over the top and cheesy I think.

Anyway, if you are more into the angry, dark and evil stuff this is not for you. Happy symphonic power metal fans will have a lot of pleasure with this 70 minutes piece of music. I sure did!



01. Battle Of Arcane Might
02. Powerwind
03. Guardian Of the Seas
04. Flight Of the Sapphire Dragon
05. There and Back Again
06. Riders Of the Dawn
07. Keepers Of Fate
08. Rise Of a Hero
09. To the Stars
10. Heroes Of Mighty Magic
11. Epilogue
12. Knights Of Twilight’s Might


Playing time: 70:00

Release date: 26 August 2016

Label: Nuclear Blast


About Reinier de Vries 188 Articles
Once a metal head, always a metalhead. My parents thought it would only be a period, but they were wrong. I quit to explain the beauty of metal music to others that are not into metal, because it is something you can't tell in words... It is like explaining to a teetotaller why a cold beer is so nice on a hot day... I started with bands like Accept, Metal Church, Iron Maiden and Metallica in the eighties and I think I will still listen to them when I'm stone deaf and old...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.