Tim Bowness – Stupid Things That Mean The World




Tim Bowness is probably best known for his collaboration with Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) in No-Man, as well as working on albums by Henry Fool and O.S.I. This is his third solo album, and the follow up to last year’s “Abandoned Dancehall Dreams”.

To categorize this simply as progressive rock would be too simple, because Tim takes us on adventures into art rock, pop, singer-songwriter as well as progressive rock. And he has called for help, many guests are contributing on the album: Peter Hammill, Phil Manzanera (Roxy Music), Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Anna Phoebe (Trans-Siberian Orchestra), Rhys Marsh and Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief). The members of No-Man Live Band, Andrew Booker (Sanguine Hum) and Colin Edward (Porcupine Tree) are together with Tim responsible for the basics.

But this is all about Tim Bowness, his voice and influences, and if you know his previous album then you know the route this album is taking… and I think this album is more rounded and an overall better experience. The songs sound more complete, are better produced and the song writing is better.

Tim goes his own way, delivering an aural journey unlike no other, a journey that might not sit well with many… and it took me some time to fully appreciate his soundscapes. But that shouldn’t be surprising for listeners familiar with his previous musical journey’s – his music is both intimate as well as epic, on a small scale, in a very simplistic way.

“Stupid Things That Mean The World” is not an album you’ll love immediately, you need to let it sink in and open up, but once it does, you’ll discover a fine little piece of progressive rock. Not an album you will think back on as a contender for Album of the Year, but a good, solid effort none the less.


  1. The Great Electric Teenage Dream (04:00)
  2. Sing To Me (05:50)
  3. Where You’ve Always Been (04:12)
  4. Stupid Things That Mean The World (03:08)
  5. Know That You Were Loved (06:54)
  6. Press Reset (04:07)
  7. All These Escapes (03:13)
  8. Everything You’re Not (03:40)
  9. Everything But You (01:12)
  10. Soft William (01:42)
  11. At The End Of The Holiday (05:01)

Playing time: 42:59

Release date: July 20, 2015

Label: InsideOut Music

Website: http://www.timbowness.co.uk

About Kenn Jensen 288 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. URL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.