Spock’s Beard – The First Twenty Years



Spock’s Beard is without a doubt one the most important and influential progressive rock bands to emerge after the 70s wave. Over the past twenty years, they’ve released twelve albums, latest one “The Oblivion Particle” released in August 2015, have been on numerous tours and have released several live albums.

And to celebrate it all they’ve decided to release a best of box-set with fourteen of their best songs in a re-mastered version, done by Rich Mouser, a brand new epic song, the close to twenty minutes long “Falling for Forever”, written by Neal Morse, featuring the vocalists, who have been/is a part of the band Neal Morse, Nick D’Vigilio (former) and Ted Leonard (current), as well as a DVD featuring rare footage from their show at Progfest 1997 and well as other goodies for the fans (So I’ve been told, I do only have the CD version available).

Sure the fans do already have all the old songs, and is one new song and a DVD enough to justify a purchase, you might ask? I think it is because of the re-mastered versions sound better, the new song is absolutely brilliant and I hope the DVD is worth watching …

So is this the quintessential Spock’s Beard collection? I think it’s pretty close, fans will always have different wishes and favourites, but I think they’ve nailed this one.

Like you can see on the list below, they’ve found space for at least one song off each of their albums:
The Light – The Light
Thoughts – Beware of Darkness
The Doorway – Beware of Darkness
June – The Kindness of Strangers
Day for Night – Day for Night
At the End of Day – V
Solitary Soul – Snow
Wind at My Back – Snow
The Bottom Line – Feel Euphoria
She is Everything – Octane
On a Perfect Day – Spock’s Beard
Jaws of Heaven – Spock’s Beard
Waiting for Me – Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep
Tides of Time – The Oblivion Particle

And some might miss one or two epics, but that would put the running time over the maximum of two discs. And I think the selection covers some of best moments of Spock’s Beard.



  1. The Light (15:33)
  2. Thoughts (7:10)
  3. The Doorway (11:27)
  4. June (5:31)
  5. Day for Night (7:34)
  6. At the End of the Day (16:28)
  7. Solitary Soul (7:33)
  8. Wind at My Back (5:12)


  1. The Bottom Line (7:33)
  2. She is Everything (6:46)
  3. On a Perfect Day (7:45)
  4. Jaws of Heaven (16:22)
  5. Waiting for Me (12:36)
  6. Tides of Time (7:47)
  7. Falling for Forever (19:45)


  1. Start
  2. Beginning
  3. Walking on the Wind
  4. Working with Kevin
  5. The Doorway
  6. Rehearsing Kindness
  7. Bospop
  8. The Light
  9. Perpetual Changes
  10. Encore
  11. Back in the Day

Playing time: 76:47 + 79:13

Release date: November 20, 2015

Label: InsideOut Music

Website: www.spocksbeard.com

About Kenn Jensen 288 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.