Evergrey – The Storm Within


Ever since I first bought their solid debut album “The Dark Discovery” on the GNW Records label many, many years ago, Evergrey has been a prominent member of my favourite power metal bands. If the debut album showed promise, the real fun began with their marvellous sophomore album “Solitude, Dominance, Tragedy” from 1999, where they firmly exploded unto the scene and showed their true colours.

Their combination of powerful heavy metal and intelligent lyrics has over the years been fine-tuned, sanded and polished to a perfect and strong power metal unit that has delivered one fine album after another. Some stronger and more complete than others, but when it says: Evergrey on the cover, then you are sure to be served first class power metal.

Their sound universe has grown over the years, and the trademark sound is firmly established in the scene. The mandatory ballads, the duets, the melodic songs, the hard and heavy songs – it’s all there. And I think this album is topping their latest “Hymns for the Broken” from 2014.

“The Storm Within” is exactly what the Doctor ordered; a varied, melodic and powerful slap of power metal with intelligent and interesting lyrics. And it sounds and feels like Evergrey, just the way we love it.

Great album!

Best moments: “Distance”, “My Allied Ocean”, “The Paradox of the Flame” and “Disconnected”.


  1. Distance
  2. Passing Through
  3. Someday
  4. Astray
  5. The Impossible
  6. My Allied Ocean
  7. In Orbit
  8. The Lonely Monarch
  9. The Paradox of the Flame
  10. Disconnected
  11. The Storm Within

Playing Time: 58:28

Release date: September 9, 2016

Label: AFM Records

Website: www.evergrey.net

About Kenn Jensen 288 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.