DevilDriver – Trust No One


Although there’s been a change of the guard in the ranks of DevilDriver, there’s actually not much new under the sun in terms of the musical output. This also means that those accustomed to the high energy levels unleashed by the Californians will not be disappointed by the brand new release, ‘Trust No One’, the band’s 7th since 2003.

From the get-go, no prisoners are taken by Dez and the rest of the DevilDriver crew, and in that sense, ‘Trust No One’ is a wonderful album. One of the things that DevilDriver do so well, is those sudden outbreaks of blistering harmonies amidst the groove thrash roar. Daybreak is a good example of this. Dez is also by any measure a frontman to be reckoned with – brutal, straight-forward and so THERE.

What I do miss here is two or three hit songs. The songs that really make the mark and stand out above the rest. Aforementioned Daybreak has a bit of that karma, the title track of the album also, but I don’t feel completely blown away. I miss being blown away by a band I know can actually do that – they have the clout, the intensity, the power.

So what I’m saying is that although this is a good album, there isn’t a lot of development to detect and no one song lifts its head above the rest. Hardcore fans will be pleased, I’m sure.

Track listing:
01. Testimony of Truth
02. Bad Deeds
03. My Night Sky
04. This Deception
05. Above It All
06. Daybreak
07. Trust No One
08. Feeling Ungodly
09. Retribution
10. For What It’s Worth

Playing time: 41 minutes

Release date: 13th of May, 2016

Label: Napalm Records



About Thomas Nielsen 1051 Articles
When my old buddy Kenn Jensen asked me if I wanted to contribute to the new site he had created, then called, I didn't hesitate. My love for metal music was and is great. I wrote my first review during the summer of 2004 (Moonspell's 'Antidote' album). In 2015, I took over the editor-in-chief role.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.