Hardline – Human Nature


In 1992 just around the time when the whole grunge music scene changed the rock and metal landscape forever, came an album that proved that there was still a vibrant and very much alive hard rock scene that refused to cave in: “Double Eclipse”, the debut album from Hardline.

Still considered a modern hard rock classic and deservedly so, it featured a formidable line-up of Neal Schon (guitars) and Deen Castronovo (drums), both of Journey and Bad English fame, the Gioeli brothers Johnny (vocals) and Joey (guitars) and Todd Jensen (bass) and was one of the first supergroups in hard rock.

The line-up has changed many times over the years, and only remaining original member is vocalist Johnny Gioeli, who on this new album is joined by Alessandro Del Vecchio (Rated X, Resurrection Kings, Revolution Saints), who takes care of the songwriting, production and keyboards, guitarist Josh Ramos (The Storm), bassist Anna Portalupi (Tarja) and drummer Francesco Jovino (Primal Fear, Jorn) completes the line-up for “Human Nature”.

They set the goal to recapture the magic of the debut album, in a heavier and updated version. The grittier and straight-in-your-face sound fits the new songs very well, without ever sacrificing their trademarks. And “Human Nature” takes us back to the marvellous debut album in spirit and style, with eleven very strong hard rock songs that ranges from fine AOR to heavier hard rock with a metal edge.

It’s a sheer pleasure to hear an album like this; anthemic and catchy hard rock with an outstanding Johnny Gioeli, and Josh Ramos delivering many fine riffs and leads that would make Schon proud. Del Vecchio’s production is tight and heavier than many of his previous productions and it fits the songs very well.

Do not miss out of one the best hard rock releases this fall!

Best moments: “Where Will We Go From Here”, “Human Nature”, “Take You Home” and “Fighting the Battle”.


  1. Where Will We Go From Here (4:31)
  2. Nobody’s Fool (4:13)
  3. Human Nature (4:14)
  4. Trapped in Muddy Waters (5:20)
  5. Running on Empty (4:08)
  6. The World Is Falling Down (4:01)
  7. Take You Home (4:19)
  8. Where the North Wind Blows (4:29)
  9. In the Dead of the Night (5:27)
  10. United We Stand (3:22)
  11. Fighting the Battle (5:09)

Playing Time: 50:48

Release date: October 14, 2016

Label: Frontiers Music SrL

Website: www.hardlinerocks.com/site

About Kenn Jensen 288 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.